BIROn - Birkbeck Institutional Research Online

    Possible entry into the Eurozone of new member states

    Sibert, Anne (2006) Possible entry into the Eurozone of new member states. Other. Committee on Economic and Monetary Affairs (ECON) of the European Parliament.

    Full text not available from this repository.


    Estonia, Lithuania and Slovenia joined the ERM in June 2004 and hope to become members of the Euro area by 1 January 2007. Each of them satisfies four of the five Maasctricht criteria for full membership in EMU: the two fiscal criteria, the exchange rate criterion and the interest rate criterion. Unfortunately, while Slovenia is likely to satisfy the fifth criterion, the inflation criterion, Estonia is unlikely to satisfy it in either 2006 or 2007 and it is uncertain whether Lithuania will be able to comply by 2007. In this note I detail the progress each of these countries has made toward satisfying the Maastrict criteria and their performance in this regard relative to the Euro area as a whole. In addition to considering the likelihood of these countries satisfying the Maastricht criteria in the short run, I assess their longer-run prospects for economic convergence.


    Item Type: Monograph (Other)
    School: Birkbeck Faculties and Schools > Faculty of Business and Law > Birkbeck Business School
    Depositing User: Sarah Hall
    Date Deposited: 25 Aug 2020 08:22
    Last Modified: 02 Aug 2023 18:03


    Activity Overview
    6 month trend
    6 month trend

    Additional statistics are available via IRStats2.

    Archive Staff Only (login required)

    Edit/View Item Edit/View Item